A HERITAGE OF HOLINESS
the rich HISTORY OF GOD'S MISSIONARY CHURCH
On a warm spring day, May 30, 1931, two holiness preachers came into this valley, where they found a remnant of the church still desiring truth. Rev. William Straub and Rev. Daniel Dubendorf pitched a tent in a wooded lot belonging to Mr. Frank Wise. The Holy Spirit had clearly directed these men to this location, although that first meeting saw few results. The tent was removed and taken to Lavelle for a camp meeting. With no plans for the tent after this meeting, Truman Wise, a son of Mr. Frank Wise, implored the two men to return to the wooded lot. The men agreed and God began to pour out His Spirit on both saint and seeker. It was in this meeting that Truman Wise was converted.
Only eternity can measure the victories that have been won as a result of the obedience of those two preachers who pitched their tent in the Lykens Valley on that spring day so many years ago.
"We didn't have a discipline. All we had was a songbook and a Bible."
In 1938, George Straub was elected as Conference President. Under his leadership the Conference grew to include over 40 churches.